Today we offer more than 668 properties and property complexes Search for
HomeAbout UsInspection TripsFurnitureApartmentsHouses & VillasLandSet up a Company in BulgariaContact Us
 Featured Properties
{ishottesttext}
view more..
{ishottesttext}
view more..
{ishottesttext}
view more..
{ishottesttext}
view more..
{ishottesttext}
view more..
{ishottesttext}
view more..
{ishottesttext}
view more..
{ishottesttext}
view more..
{ishottesttext}
view more..
{ishottesttext}
view more..
{ishottesttext}
view more..
{ishottesttext}
view more..
{ishottesttext}
view more..
{ishottesttext}
view more..
{ishottesttext}
view more..
{ishottesttext}
view more..
{ishottesttext}
view more..
{ishottesttext}
view more..
{ishottesttext}
view more..
{ishottesttext}
view more..
{ishottesttext}
view more..
{ishottesttext}
view more..
{ishottesttext}
view more..
{ishottesttext}
view more..
{ishottesttext}
view more..
{ishottesttext}
view more..
{ishottesttext}
view more..
{ishottesttext}
view more..
{ishottesttext}
view more..
{ishottesttext}
view more..
A plot of land with area of 44 472 sq.m in a complex of two golf courses in progress near Haskovo city. PRICE: 12 EUR per sq.m
view more..
 Properties by Type
Sofia Properties
Seaside Apartments
Ski Apartments
Resale apartments
Houses
Land
Commercial
Recommended

 Properties by Location
In the capital
In rural countryside
In town
Near town
In beach resort
Near beach resort
On the sea
Near the sea
In ski resort
Near ski resort
In the mountain
Near mountain
In historic place
In vacation place
Near highway
Near river
In fishing area
In hunting area
In spa resort
Near spa resort
Near golf course
In golf course

 Properties by Region
Arapya
Balchik coastal town
Bansko
Borovets
Bourgas
Bourgas Area
Byala coastal town
Central Northern Bulgaria
Chernomoretz
East Rodopy mountain
Haskovo
Kiten
Kyustendil
Lozenetz
Nessebar
Northwestern Bulgaria
Pamporovo
Pazardjik
Pomorie
Pomorie region
Primorsko
Properties in South Bulgaria
Ravda
Ruse
Sliven Area
Sofia
Sozopol
Stara Zagora
Strandja mountain
Sunny Beach
Tsarevo coastal town
Varna Area
Veliko Turnovo
Vlas
Vratza

Useful Information
Legal treatment of the foreign investments in Bulgaria
Taxation in Bulgaria
Legal services
Building works
Jobs
Mortgages
Aftersales

Accommodation
Bourgas city
Varna
Sunny Beach Apartments Sozopol Properties Subscribe to our mailing list Bansko Apartments

Bulgarian Black Sea Coast
Ahtopol
The town of Ahtopol (population: 1364) is situated on a sharply jutted cape 87 km southeast of Bourgas and 477 km southeast of Sofia.
Albena
The resort of Albena is situated 32 km north and northeast of Varna, 502 km northeast of Sofia and 12 km south-west of Balchik.
Balchik
The town of Balchik (population: 13 766) is 31 km north and northeast of Varna, 501 km away from Sofia, and is situated on the coast itself.
Bourgas
The city of Bourgas (population: 196 316) is the second largest city at the Black Sea coast and is a regional administrative centre.
Dyuni
The Dyuni Resort is situated on 12 km north of Primorsko and was completed in 1987 as a Bulgarian-Austrian project.
Elenite
Elenite is a resort situated east of Slunchev Bryag (Sunny Beach) at the beginning of an eight-kilometer-long through road.
Kamchia
The mouth of the Kamchia River is one of the most beautiful sights along Bulgarian Black Sea coast.
Kavarna
Kavarna (population: 12 225) is situated 48 km north of Varna, 518 km northeast of Sofia and 12 km away from Cape Kaliakra.
Kiten
The village of Kiten (population: 528) is situated at the south end of Primorsko Bay, 56 km south of Bourgas and 446 south-east of Sofia.
Nessebur
The town of Nessebur (9437 inhabitants) is situated on a small peninsula and on the land jutted out into the sea, 37 km northeast of Bourgas and 429 km east of Sofia.
Obzor
The town of Obzor (population: over 2000 inhabitants) is situated 65 km south of Varna, 73 km north of Bourgas and 530 km east of Sofia.
Pomorie
The town of Pomorie (population: 14 560) is situated on a peninsula projecting 5 km into the sea.
Primorsko
The town of Primorsko (population: 2459) is a climate resort and a centre for youth tourism.
Roussalka
The resort of Roussalka was established in 1968, in the famous Taoukliman (Bay of the birds).
Shabla
The town of Shabla (population:4551)is situated 24 km north of the Romanian boundary, 66 km north of Varna, and 536 km northwest of Sofia.
Slunchev Bryag (SUNNY BEACH)
Sunny beach Resort is situated on 42 km north of Bourgas and 434 km east of Sofia.
Sozopol
The town of Sozopol (population: 4 987) is situated 31 km southeast of Bourgas, and 421 km southeast of Sofia.
St. St. Konstantin and Elena
The oldest resort on the Bulgarian Black Sea coast is only 9 km northeast of Varna and 479 km east of Sofia.
Tsarevo
The town of Tsarevo (population: 6184) is 72 km south of Bourgas and 462 km southeast of Sofia.
Varna
The city of Varna (population 314 539) is situated at the Bay of Varna, 470 km east of Sofia.
Zlatni Pyasutsi (GOLDEN SANDS)
The resort of Zlatni Pyassutsi is the largest one on the northern Black Sea coast (more than 1800 hectares).

Shabla (top)
Intro:
The town of Shabla (population:4551)is situated 24 km north of the Romanian boundary, 66 km north of Varna, and 536 km northwest of Sofia.

Full text:
In 1969, it was proclaimed a town.

History. An ancient Thracian settlement emerged at this place, then a Greek colony and later on, the Roman town of Karia with a harbour was built near Cape Shabla. In early Byzantine time, trade and crafts underwent brisk development. In later times, the town fell into decay and only the anglers’ settlement was left. Except for fishing and the sea- related crafts, the town is also known for its agricultural production. Not far from Shabla, by the village of Tyulenovo there is an oil field where part of the population of the town earns their living nowadays.

Landmarks. There is an old community cultural centre, museum collection and an art gallery in the town. Every 24th day the town hosts a grand folklore festive of people's art and creativity noted for the songs, dances and applied art exhibitions. The beach here is clean and pleasant for recreation.

Accommodation. There is a small hotel in Shabla called Drouzhba Hotel offering 60 beds, as well as private lodgings and a camping site.

Catering establishments. Beside the restaurant at the hotel, in recent years Shabla offers sufficient catering opportunities at the small private restaurants and snack bars. There are grocer's stores, by-the-road caravans offering food and refreshment stalls. One can buy fruit and vegetables from the local producers.

Transport. Shabla is connected with Varna via Kavarna and with Dobrich by bus transport. The road to Varna is a first-class one and leads to the Romanian border northwards.

Surrounding areas. The archaeological excavations at Cape Shabla (about 5 km east of the town) are the most interesting site for the visitors. The foundations of an ancient Roman fortress may be seen and despite being a small one, it had been an important centre of commercial contacts with the other settlements along the Black Sea coast. The Lake of Shabla is situated 3 km away of the town and it is a wonderful place for fishing and recreation. It is the nestling site for more than 100 000 wild geese. Nearby the town, one can visit the Ezerets Dam. By the anglers’ settlement of Krapets (16 km northeast of the town), there is a camping site. The Dourankoulak Moor is further northwards and is famous for being a reserve for a number of marsh birds, some of them are registered in the Red Book of the fauna species in Bulgaria. On the big island in the Dourankoulak Moor, the remains of the biggest Eneolithic settlement in Europe were excavated, as well as many other finds dating back to various periods of human civilization. There is a camping site, too. Nearby the town of Shabla is the yachting club where the annual yacht-regatta along the Black Sea coast starts.

Roussalka (top)
Intro:
The resort of Roussalka was established in 1968, in the famous Taoukliman (Bay of the birds).

Full text:
This is a typical birds' colony in a pretty, rocky area near the sea. It is 14 km east of the town of Kavarna, 59 km northeast of Varna, 529 km north-east of Sofia and 1 km away from the small village called St. Nikola. In the beginning, Roussalka (Mermaid) predominantly received French holidaymakers while today many Belgian, Dutch, Russian and Bulgarian tourists visit the resort.

Accommodation and catering. The resort offers 522 separate small houses (bungalows) facing the sea and enough sports and recreation equipment. It is situated on terraces according to the architectural decision. The resort offers opportunities and facilities for practicing of almost all kinds of water sports. There are many tennis-courts, biking alleys, fitness and balneology centers for water treatment and massage. There is a bar with entertainment programs, restaurants, discotheques and snack bars. Several small bays offer different beach conditions - sand, pebbles, bigger stones and rocks. The underwater world is interesting due to the peculiar relief of the rocks. Divers can find good opportunities for practicing. There is a small firth with curative mud, yachting facilities, and an open-air theatre. The village of Kamen Bryag (Rocky Shore) is in the vicinity of the resort and there are interesting rock formations, and wonderful rocky bays with many caves and reefs. This is the favourite site for students, trackers, hippies and tourists in search of privacy. The impressing Yailata landslide is situated 1 km south of the village.


Kavarna (top)
Intro:
Kavarna (population: 12 225) is situated 48 km north of Varna, 518 km northeast of Sofia and 12 km away from Cape Kaliakra.

Full text:
It is a Black Sea port for passenger and cargo vessels of medium type.

History. Kavarna is the successor of the Thracian settlement called Bizone, the earliest finds dating back to the end of 6th century BC. Later on, Greek settlers came here and turned it into one of the numerous Greek colonies along the Black Sea coast. In 1st century BC, the town suffered severe earthquake that swallowed it almost completely. Then it was restored and included in the territory of the Roman Empire and consequently in that of Byzantium. Nowadays traces of the old settlement are to be found on both the high and low parts of the area. After the foundation of the Bulgarian State on the Balkan Peninsula, the town changed its name several times. It was called Karvouna, Karbona, Karnava and finally Kavarna. In the Middle Ages the invasion of the Tatars destroyed it. Later on the Boyar Balik restored it and it became independent principality named Karvounska Hora. The Turks conquered it in 1393. The town moved slowly to its present day location. It suffered the Russian-Turkish Wars of 1828-1829 and of 1850, then it was restored but shortly before the liberation, the inhabitants of Kavarna rebelled and because of the suppression of the rebellion, the town was put to fire and devastated by the bashibozouk (Turkish army of volunteers). 1200 people found their death. The town of Kavarna was once again rebuilt and became an agricultural and fishing centre. Then it took part in the revolts of Dourankoulak in 1900. Nowadays the town is an industrial centre; there is an agricultural technical school and a harbour.

Landmarks. On the high hill of Chirakman one can find the remains of Roman villas and walls, as well as of medieval buildings and churches. There is a museum hosting interesting exhibits of the town's history, the Thracian finds making special impression. There is an excellent beach south of Kavarna. The interesting fishing harbour is much visited by tourists. Old buildings of the time of the Ottoman rule are preserved, today being used as warehouses. There is a small Art Gallery and local Archaeological Museum in the town.

Accommodation. The two well known of the hotels in Kavarna are Siana Hotel and Dobrotitsa Hotel. One can find good conditions for the night in private lodgings at moderate prices. Close to the town is the camping resort of Morska Zvezda (Sea Star). It offers bungalows, camping area, caravans and tents at reasonable prices.

Catering. Near the harbour and in the centre of the town there are several big restaurants offering seafood and traditional Bulgarian cuisine. The small restaurants offer local dishes, pizzas, spaghetti, etc. The prices in the town are moderate and the products in the grocers' shops are cheap. The local producers sell fresh, fruits and vegetables. There are enough small snack bars and pavilions in the town.

Transport. Kavarna is connected to Varna via Balchik and to Dobrich. There is regular bus transport as well as private transport - minibuses, taxis. One can use sea transport from the town to nearby Balchik. Kaliakra, some villages and small camping sites adjacent to the town, upon agreement with the anglers.

Surrounding areas. The climatic resort in the village of Bulgarevo is situated 6 km east of Kavarna. The remains of the ancient Timum Fortress of Hellenes and Romans were found there. Six kilometers further eastwards is Cape Kaliakra where the ancient fortress called Tirisis was located. According to the legends, it was a hiding place for the treasures of Lyzimah, successor of Alexander the Great. At the time of the Roman Empire, the town bore the name of Tetrasiada, then during the Byzantine rule -Akre, and in the Middle Ages - Kaliakra. Today there are quite enough remains of those ancient settlements and part of them can be seen exhibited in a small museum sheltered under a limestone cave. There is a legend telling the story of several Bulgarian girls who chose to jump from the high cape with hair entangled with one another to avoid being converted to Islam by the Turks.

Balchik (top)
Intro:
The town of Balchik (population: 13 766) is 31 km north and northeast of Varna, 501 km away from Sofia, and is situated on the coast itself.

Full text:
There is a big harbour used for medium-size passenger and trade vessels.

History. The place was first inhabited by the lonians in 5th century BC. They founded a settlement and called it Krouni or Krounoi after the earlier Thracian settlements in the vicinity. The name of the town comes from the Greek word "izvori" (springs) as there are many karst curative springs in the area. Later on it was renamed Dionisopolis after the name of Dionisius, God of wine and feasts. Some consider that the town was given this particular name because of the statue of Dionisius thrown out onshore. The image of this god was on the coins minted here, and the town was the most important centre, second only to Odessoss (Varna) on the northern Black Sea coast until the beginning of the new era. After a sequence of invasions at the time of the Roman Empire, the town fell to decay. Later on, it was included in the territory of Bulgaria. In 13th -14th century it moved to Dzhina Bair, a natural fortification. It was ruled by the Boyar Balik, and so it was called Balchik. After the Crimean War (1853 - 1856), the town flourished and grew into a big corn-trading centre. After the Balkan War in 1913, it was included in the territories of Romania. Struck by the natural beauty of the place Queen Maria built a palace and a botanical garden, a chapel and a villa complex for the Romanian aristocrats. The town turned into a luxurious resort at the time. After 1940, Balchik was again included in Bulgarian territory.

Landmarks. Apart from the palace, the palace complex and the botanical garden - the biggest and most diverse in the Balkans, the town is attractive to tourists with its ancient atmosphere that has been preserved for centuries now. It is interesting to walk along and observe the Tatar Quarter with the pebbled streets and the houses made of stone and adobe. The Palace Complex consists of the central palace with a high tower, numerous buildings in a modern style at the time, a many-terrace park, lanes and paths, stone summer-houses propped on marvellous columns facing the sea, a throne under an old tree where Queen Maria loved to sit and watch the sunset, a small chapel where her heart is preserved. There are more than 3000 rare and exotic species of plants in the botany garden. It is part of the teaching facilities of Sofia University. The whole complex was called Tenha Yuva (Quiet Nest). The Art Gallery of the town is very interesting. The local museum is housed there as well. The coastal alley, 4 km long, is a nice place to stroll, so are the harbour and the small streets around. There is a small ethnographic museum and a beautiful old church called St. Nikola Church. The Revival complex with the old school in the town is quite well preserved.

Accommodation. The most popular hotels in the town are Dionisopolis Hotel, Balchik Hotel and Elite Hotel. One can reserve rooms at the palace as well. There are bungalows near the shore in the Tihiya Kut Resort (The Quiet Place). The Tourist Information Centre is at 1, Ribarski Blvd., tel.: 05797 2034. There are many private lodgings offered in the town with their prices depending on the comfort and the distance to the beach or the centre. Not far from the town is the Bisser Camping offering bungalows and space for caravans to park and tents to put up.

Catering. Apart from the big restaurants in the palace, in the hotels and downtown, there are a number of small private restaurants, coastal stalls offering seafood, pizzas, spaghetti and other kinds of European cuisine. The grocer's shops are a good opportunity for practical tourists who cook for themselves.

Transport. There is regular transport to Dobrich, Varna and Albena. Apart from buses, there are numerous route-taxis and private minibuses, taxis and water transport to Varna and Albena.

Surrounding areas. The area of Touzlata is located 4 km east of the town and is well known for its curing mud. A balneocentre was built here beside the two lakes, formed by old landslides. It receives patients suffering from joint disorders. A large recreational complex, a lot of villas, bungalows and a camping site are built here. There is a mineral spring with water temperature of 31°C. Near Balchik are the two big camping sites - Sandrino Camping and Beliyat Bryag Camping. They offer various opportunities for rest and water sports, clubs, bars, numerous bungalows for tourists having no camping equipment, small restaurants and stalls for sea and continental food. Fifteen kilometers south-west of Balchik is the village of Obrochishte with a well-preserved fortress dating back to the early Ottoman rule. Travellers of that time used to compare it with the beauty of Baghdad.

Albena (top)
Intro:
The resort of Albena is situated 32 km north and northeast of Varna, 502 km northeast of Sofia and 12 km south-west of Balchik.

Full text:
It is located on a long sand stretch in the open northern part of Varna Bay. It was built in 1969 in an architectural style reminiscent of one of Walter Gropius' urban models and of the time of Bauhaus. Most of the hotels have a terrace-line structure with well-projected stories. The concept of this architecture is getting more sun in summer days. The resort has three camping sites - Albena Camping, International Camping and Ekzotika Camping, which offer great opportunities for housing tourists and holidaymakers. The Batov River is interesting with its location in a natural forest. Ovidius came here on his way to the country of his exile - Tomi (present Kyustendzha in Romania). To the north, the shore is steep, formed of the yellow sandstone and limestone typical of the area. These stone slopes gave the material for building the resort. It seems to match the landscape of the area in a most natural way. The resort was given its present name in honour of Albena, a female character of the great Bulgarian writer Yordan Yovkov, from the drama play of the same title "Albena". She is a symbol of purity and beauty in Bulgarian dramaturgy and literature. The area is rich of tennis courts, bars, casino, and restaurants with entertainment performed by famous actors, children's playgrounds, swimming pools, golf playground. One can ride a bike or a horse, there are stunts with horses and cascade tricks, fans can rent automobiles, cutters, sailboats, yachts, waterwheels and jets. The whole range of water sports facilities is available with the assistance of coaches. There is an annual auto-rally called Albena held at the beginning of May, a folk festival for songs and dances from Dobroudzha, Zlatnata Antena (Gold Antennae) Festival for TV programs, bridge competition (in June), beach volleyball competition (in June or July), etc. Albena is a point in the route of the annual regatta. The resort hosts Vladimir Grashnov Annual Football Tournament, too.

Accommodation. At present, the resort has 43 hotels functioning. From 4-star to 1-star categories the hotels offer different degree comfort and luxury to holidaymakers. Albena Resort is one the most expensive on the Black Sea coast, alongside with Dyuni and Roussalka. The most famous and representative is the 17-storey Dobroudzha Hotel, in Swiss style. The newly erected Maastricht Hotel is also notable. It was built with Bulgarian - Dutch funding and welcomes guests from all over Europe. Other famous hotels are Dobrotitsa, Drouzhba and Zdravets. There is an accommodation bureau and small private reservation agencies.

Catering. Apart from the numerous restaurants at the hotels, there are many restaurants and bistros offering various dishes - from continental European and traditionally Bulgarian to Indian and Chinese cuisine. The most popular and visited places offering entertainment and excellent specialties are Picnic Orehite, Slavyanski Kut (Slavonic Place), Starobulgarski Stan (Old Bulgarian Camp), and Flambé Restaurant, Stariyat Dub (Old Oak), Ribarska Hizha (Fisherman's Hut) and especially Arabella ship-restaurant that serves incredibly delicious seafood.

Transport. There is regular transport to Albena from Balchik, Varna, Zlatni Pyasutsi (Golden Sands) and Dobrich. Apart from the regular town buses, there are a lot of private minibuses, route and ordinary taxis, water transport from the small port in the resort.

Surrounding areas. Besides the village of Obrochishte mentioned in the section about Balchik, nearby is the village of Kranevo with remains of the ancient fortress Kranea and Gerania. There are many youth and school camps, as well as running mineral water in the village. The shore between Albena and Kranevo is high and extremely picturesque with sharply cut rocky formations. There are a lot of vineyards and small private gardens on the shore. The prices in Kranevo are far lower than those ones in Albena, besides there is a great capacity of private lodgings for foreign and Bulgarian tourists. The holidaymakers lodged in Kranevo often go to the beaches of Albena during the day. Between Albena and Kranevo are the three big camping sites offering accommodation to tourists in bungalows and tents. There is a direct asphalt road through the area of Baltata connecting Kranevo and Albena. In the past the road was used by villains.

Zlatni Pyasutsi (GOLDEN SANDS) (top)
Intro:
The resort of Zlatni Pyassutsi is the largest one on the northern Black Sea coast (more than 1800 hectares).

Full text:
It is situated 18 km north-east of Varna, 488 km east of Sofia; it is bounded on the north by Kranevo and on the south by Chaika Villa Area, and merges with the St. St. Konstantin and Elena Resort. Above the resort is the Frengen Plateau of limestone structure, which is liable to landslide and erosion. The area is famous for the purest sand on the Black Sea coast. In Turkish times, it was called Ouzounkoum - the long sands. The resort is abundant in lush vegetation and with the numerous bushes and trees it resembles a real park. The mineral water running out of several big pipes onto the beach, as well as the marvellous deciduous wood bordering the Frangen Plateau turn Zlatni Pyassutsi into one of the pearls of the Bulgarian coast. The construction works commenced back around the year of 1950, and is still going on. Most of the alleys are asphalt-covered; the shore is paralleled by small streets, nice cozy hotels with picturesque parks around them, steps leading to small bays on both sides of the resort - favourite corners for tourists and holidaymakers in search for solitude. The constant temperature of about 27°C and the microclimate of Zlatni Pyassutsi throughout the season make it a wonderful place for having a rest and fun. There is a casino, many bars, mini-golf playground, horse-carriages and attractive carts, water slides, good conditions and equipment for practising all kinds of water sports with the assistance of licensed coaches. One can attend and participate in the following festive: the Strongest Man Competition, Miss and Mister "Zlatni Pyassutsi" Competition, competitions for all breeds of dogs, Satellite Tennis Tournament, Old-fashioned Auto Rally, International Festival for Standard and Sport Dances, etc.

Accommodation. The Zlatni Pyassutsi Resort offers at the disposal of its guests 61 hotels and 10 luxury villas. The 4-star hotel category includes Yavor Hotel, Morsko Oko Hotel and Zlatna Kotva Hotel. The following hotels are of premium quality - Mars Hotel, Zora Hotel, Riviera Complex, Ambassador Hotel. Most of the hotels have swimming pools and fitness halls; most of them have exchange bureaus where the tourist companies leave up-to-date information as well.

Catering. As usual, each hotel has a snack bar or a restaurant. There is a profusion of restaurants offering various kinds of specialties and entertainment in different styles. As a rule, the best artists of the northern Black Sea coast dance and play here in Zlatni Pyassutsi. The following establishments are interesting for their architecture, entertainment programmes and cuisine: Vodenitsata (The Water Mill), Tsiganski Tabor (Gypsy Tabor), Kosharite (Sheepfolds), Zlatna Ribka (Golden Fish), Kriva Lipa (Crooked Lime-tree) and Dionisus. The Indian restaurant has a chef from India and is of special interest to the visitors. There are a lot of snack bars, fast food, grill- and toast-bars and various other ways to service the tourists.

Transport. The transport between Zlatni Pyassutsi and Varna is particularly well organised. Apart from the bus lines connecting the resort to the city and to the airport as well, there are a lot of minibuses, private route taxis and ordinary taxis. Because of the big competition, the prices of the tickets are moderate.

Surrounding areas. In the immediate proximity of the resort is the interesting Aladzha rock monastery. It hosted Hesychasts in 12th century and has an interesting history. Nowadays, only, a small part of the frescoes is preserved but the experience of being in a monastery nestled on a high steep rock is unforgettable. The monastery is declared a cultural sight and houses a small museum.

St. St. Konstantin and Elena (top)
Intro:
The oldest resort on the Bulgarian Black Sea coast is only 9 km northeast of Varna and 479 km east of Sofia.

Full text:
Its construction began in 1908, near St. St. Konstantin and Elena Monastery and the purpose was to receive patients sick of tuberculosis. The church itself was built at the beginning of 18th century. Today the building of the monastery is a hotel and a restaurant of high category. Accommodation: More than 50 hotels in the resort offer accommodation. The first to mention is the 5-star Varna Grand Hotel equipped with swimming pools, lobby-bars and confectioneries, excellent restaurant, bar, fitness halls and many other additional facilities. Part of the Scientists' Rest Home is used as a hotel called Julio Curie. Other hotels offering excellent comfort are Prostor Hotel, Roubin Hotel, Coral Hotel, Slunchev Den - a chain of four hotels, the Vakantsia Summer Resort with 25 villas and bungalows. For accommodation, information and reservations one may refer to the Tourist Bureau. All hotels, bungalows and villas have been described in the article about St. St. Konstantin and Elena in Varna related chapter herein. Tourists should better make reservations on time as the resort is always packed throughout the high season.

Catering. The big restaurants at the hotels offer excellent food. Famous restaurants in the resort: Manastirska Izba Monastery Cellar) - housed in the building of the monastery, Bulgarska Svatba (Bulgarian Wedding), Sedemte Odai (The Seven Old Bulgarian Rooms). Very interesting and much visited is the Sirius Fishing Ship restaurant, situated on a hill above the sea. It offers numerous fish specialties and seafood. As a rule, in the resort prices are high. Some tourists often prefer to eat in Varna.

Transport. Regular town buses run every ten minutes (from 6.00 a.m. until 11.00 p.m.) from the resort to the sea capital city. Many minibuses and route-taxis are good opportunity for quick transport to Varna.

Surrounding areas. Between St. Konstantin and Zlatni Pyassutsi is the small Chaika Resort-Complex offering sufficient accommodation and catering facilities. The Evksinograd Residence is located further southwards. It was built in a New Baroque style with exceedingly beautiful garden, park, fountains, and stairs leading down to the seashore. The residence can be visited with a special personal permit and tourists can have a look around in scheduled hours and days (usually on Fridays and Saturdays). Almost next to Varna is the small resort of Pochivka (Rest) offering accommodation facilities. The new means for attracting tourists are interesting, i.e. barbecue and a programme performed by eminent actors who come here after their tours in the big resorts. Most of the hotels have parks and gardens, swimming pools for children. The shore below Pochivka is interesting and picturesque with its typical rocky formations, slightly projected into the sea.

Varna (top)
Intro:
The city of Varna (population 314 539) is situated at the Bay of Varna, 470 km east of Sofia.

Full text:
Varna is the biggest city at the Bulgarian Black-sea coast. It is situated at the same latitude with Cannes, Nice, Monaco and Livorno. It is nestled in the deep valley between the Frengen Plareau and the Avren Plateau, where two lakes were formed during the polyotsen - the Beloslav Lake is to the west of the city and the other - Varna Lake is within the limits of the city itself. Varna is a city over 110 km long, its width, including the new residential quarters is nearly 9 km. The city is like an amphitheatre and follows the curves of the Bay of Varna. Lots of gardens, vineyards and deciduous groves surround it. Almost the whole territory is occupied with private country-houses and their small farms. The city is a regional administrative centre.

History. Varna has history that could be traced back for thousand years. Due to its favourable location and visibility of almost 270 degrees, an ancient Thracian tribe - Corbisy in their small anglers’ settlement inhabited the small cape, which now hosts the sea station. In 6th century BC a Greek polis (settlement) inhabited by colonists and settlers from Millet emerged here under the name of Odessos. The town became fishing and farming colony and later on in the 5th century BC, it turned into a real centre of commerce. Up to the Roman domination, the Thracian god Darzalas was worshipped rather than the common gods Apollo and Dionyssus. Old Greek and Roman sources evidence that in Darzalas' honour processions, mysteries, games and competitions were organised. The town had been under the siege of the troops of Alexander of Macedonia in the middle of the 4th century BC but after the siege was put down, the town was given autonomy within the limits of his Empire. After the uprising and its liberation during the rule of Lisimah the town re-established its supremacy at the north Black Sea coast. Up to the 1st century BC, it was an independent polis and minted coins with the effigy of its patron god. Conquered by Mark Lukulus' legions, it became a Roman regional centre of great importance. There the great epic poet of Rome Ovidii stayed in his way to the town of Tommy (nowadays Kyustendzha, Romania) where he was sent on exile. Gradually Odessos lost its supremacy in the region, which was then gained by the town of Martsianopolis (nowadays Devnya) founded by the Emperor Trayan. Being conquered and devastated several times during the barbarian invasions it was for some time within the Byzantine Empire then out of its territories. In 9th century, it was already called Varna. It is supposed that the name originates from the horse people in Central Asia - toponymy (name of an area) and hydronymy (name of a water basin) in India (the river that runs into the Ganges at Varanassi) and from the concept of caste (colour). After the numerous wars between Bulgaria and Byzantine, the town was included in the territory of Bulgaria in the beginning of the 13th century, during the reign of King Kaloyan. Its defence system consisted of three strongholds: one - at the Cape Galata; other - at Cape St. Dimitar and the third, called Petrich was near the lake of Beloslav. Despite its reliable defence system, the town was conquered by the Turks in 1391 and it soon declined. In 1444, during the crusade of the Polish king Vladislav Yagello (Varnenchik) and the Hungarian leader Yanosh Huniady, the town was under the siege of the knights. Despite the fact that the troops of the Christian coalition fought bravely they suffered a complete defeat. The young king Vladislav was killed. The citizens of Varna built a mausoleum in his honour. In the course of time, the town more and more acquired an Oriental outlook. Many Turks settled there. Mosques, konaks (town halls) and Turkish baths were built. The construction of churches was strongly forbidden for a long time. Varna became a mighty stronghold, which guarded the northeast borders of the Ottoman Empire and a commercial and artisans' centre of great importance. During the Russian-Turkish War in 1828, the town was conquered by the Russian troops and hold under their rule for some time. An uplift of the national spirit began in the next decades. Schools, community centers and churches were built. In 1878, Varna was finally liberated from Ottoman rule and became the most important Bulgarian seaport town. At the end of the 19th century, it was connected with Sofia by railway. Many factories were opened, and industrial fishing was developing. Varna quickly established as a seaside resort as well, enhanced by the European fashion in architecture and water transport. Entertainment establishments and holiday houses were built. Varna won the fame of a favourite place for Bulgarian cultural elite. For a short time the city was renamed Stalin. After 1956, its previous name was reinstated. Varna became a centre of the North Black Sea coast and a starting point for the design and building of the numerous resorts around it. Marine business developed - from fishing to the transfer of goods between the East and the West. Nowadays Varna is an industrial city - the third biggest one in Bulgaria after Sofia and Plovdiv.

Landmarks. The Roman Spas are situated in the centre of the city. They were built in the 2nd century during the reign of the emperor Antony Pii and were abandoned in the 5th century during the barbarian invasion. After much research and restoration, they are now preserved and are frequently visited by tourists and guests of the city. Pottery workshops were opened in the 14th century, and later on, a small residential quarter was built. The Roman Bath dates back to the 3rd century. It is built on layers of stones and bricks, bound by a mixture of plaster and crumbled tiles and bricks. The walls are grouted with water-resistant plaster, there are marble tiles on the floor and some of the premises were panelled in marble. In the 5th century, the building was considerably extended and reconstructed due to the development of that part of the city. Nowadays it is a sight of tourist and archaeological interest. The Holy Virgin Cathedral is considered an emblem of the seaside capital of Bulgaria. It rises at the very city centre across from the theatre alley. Buses start from the square in front of it to all the vicinities and to the airport. A Revival master in the manner of Petersburg architecture built the church in 1866. Not until 1910, it sanctified because its building and icon painting took a lot of time. The woodcarving of the altar and the Episcopal stall are made by masters from the Debur school, Macedonia. The central wall paintings were completed in 1950. The St. Nikola Church is located near the Sea Garden Park and dates back to the 1866. It has very interesting wall paintings and ancient icons by masters, belonging to various icon-painting schools in Bulgaria. The Sea Garden Park is another emblem of Varna. It dates from the end of the 19th century, being finally completed in 1908. At that time, the idea to place the busts of outstanding Revival figures in some of its valleys was accepted. Nowadays there is an amphitheatre; astronomic site, the first in the country, with an observatory, planetarium and a tower; many playgrounds for children, and a small channel, where they can practice rowing, as well as a pool for water wheels and a zoo. The open-air theatre is a place, where various activities take place. These include the Varna Days of Music, the world famous International Ballet Competition and Varna Summer - a triennial of arts. The central sea baths and the beach are located beneath the Sea Garden Park. They were built in the beginning of the century and are equipped with a polyclinic, water- and mud- cure complex, two quays, several restaurants and disco clubs. The Russian Monument is in Primorski Park. It was erected in honour to the Russian soldiers who died in Varna in the War of Liberation. The Asparouh Bridge connects the city centre with the residential quarterss Asparouhovo and Galata. It is the longest bridge in Bulgaria and works on it are still under way. Here the local club for extreme sports organises Bunji jumps. To the east of the bridge, the Bay of Varna and the Cape Galata could be seen. To the west is the Varna Lake. The Clock Tower was built in 1880 and it rises across the cathedral. Beneath the cathedral is one of the branches of the Theatre of Drama and the Club of the culture activists. The Festival Complex is opposite the entrance of the Sea Garden Park. It is a modern building of aluminum, stone and glass. It has several stages, conference-halls, a big bazaar, and a sweet shop. Many exhibitions and festivals are held here as well as ballet and theatrical performances. The Sports Palace is located at the motorway to the resorts Zlatni Pyassutsi (Golden Sands), St. Constantin and Albena. Competitions in over 30 sports games take place there; exhibitions are held; concerts and performances take place, too. The design of the palace is actual copy of the Palace of Culture in Lagos, Nigeria, built by Bulgarian experts. The Dolphinarium (Show-House) is one of the favourite attractions for children and guests of Varna. There are regular performances and demonstrations with the clever dolphins. Feeding the dolphins and taking pictures is allowed. Each year new stunts are performed here and the show gets more attractive, including performances by nine artists, clowns and actors. The Theatre of Drama is in the city-centre. It was built nearly a century ago, after the fashion of Vienna. It houses a theatre, an opera - and philharmonic halls. Its foundations were laid by actors in the French Army during the Crimean War in 1856. The first Bulgarian theatre performance of Bulgarian drama was performed here. Not faraway is the Puppet Theatre, where the Golden Dolphin Festival of puppets takes place each year. Museums. The Archaeological Museum is housed in a building that used to be a school during the Revival. Here visitors can see miniature models of pile dwellings from the Palaeolithic period; the hall to ancient arts and means of living has one of the biggest and most impressive collections in the country /some objects and church plate from the early ages of Christianity; objects of cult from the ancient Bulgarian ethnicity/ ; the hall with exponents from the 13th-14th century, where the development of crafts at that time could be traced; the hall of Bulgarians applied arts and a lapidarian, where sarcophagi, tombstones, steles and tomb columns are displayed. The museum holds some rare objects from Egypt, Greece, Babylon and the Mediterranean countries, which were transported to ancient Odessos via the trade routes. The Museum of National Revival is housed in a building from 1861, which was proclaimed a cultural monument. Patriotic citizens and scholars arranged the museum exhibition in 1959 and it has been enriched and extended many times. The original arrangement of St. Archangel Mihail Church can be seen on the ground floor. An impressive exhibition shows the struggle for religious enlightenment, national independence and the epic battles during the Russian-Turkish War of Liberation. The Naval Museum is in the Sea Garden Park and possesses all the important documents and equipment of Bulgarian Navy from its foundation in 1878 up to the present. The great scientist Karel Shkorpil founded it in 1923. There are cannons, old anchors, and sea vessels and so on in the yard of the museum. The Vladislav Varnenchik Park-Museum is to the northeast of the city, near the crossroads for Sofia and Dobrich. It was built in honour of the historical battle in 1444 when Czechs, Poles, Croatians, Hungarians, and Bulgarians tried to resist the Turkish invasion in Europe. A mausoleum to Vladislav Varnenchik was built in 1934 on the foundations of an ancient Thracian tomb. The Ethnographic Museum is housed in a Revival house from the 19th century. A typical arrangement of the house of Varna in that time is shown. Many kinds of jewellery are displayed, as well as clothing, formal national costumes, everyday life items and goods manufactured goods in the city and its vicinities. The Museum of Nature and Science was founded in 1960 and it displays species typical of the Bulgarian flora and fauna. Geological and speleological miniature models show the stages of the formation of the lithosphere. There is a small board with the main kinds of stones and minerals. The exponents are displayed in three specialised halls - geology, flora and fauna. The Aquarium and the Black Sea Museum were opened in 1932 - the first and the only marine biological station in the country. In 1954, the Scientific Research Institute on sea-related issues, fishing and industrial fishing was opened with the Aquarium. Hundreds of fish species are gathered here: mollusks, actinides, crabs, periwinkles as well as species of the fresh water rivers. A special place is occupied by the natural resources derived from the Black Sea, such as sea salt and oil. The Museum of Medicine is the only one on the Balkan Peninsula. Medicinal plants and herbs are here on display, as well as surgical and other medical tools and clothing used in ancient times up until now. It was founded in 1869 as a private hospital with a small museum. The Museum of Art and History of Varna has an exceptionally rich collection, one of its exhibits being the Gold Treasure of Varna -dating back 6000 years ago, it is the oldest processed gold found in the world. 281 tombs were found in a necropolis dating back to the Halcolith Age. One of them contained more than 3000 golden articles (statehood attributes, jewellery, adorning, etc.), of the total 6 kg weight. The Art Gallery was opened in 1950. It possesses paintings by the most outstanding Bulgarian artists as well as pieces of work by numerous foreign artists, donated to the gallery by private persons. A branch of the museum is the Georgi Veltchev Museum-House, where canvases by the prominent artist of Varna are displayed. An exhibition of icon-paintings from the Revival is arranged in the St. Atanas Church, built in the 13th century near the Roman spa. The church itself is very original with its mural paintings and icons and with its carved altar and bishop's throne. There is a collection of woodcuts, etchings, liturgical and canon books from Bulgarian Revival. Varna's festivals are large in number. The most popular of them are: the International Choir Gathering - at the end of May, International Theatre Holidays - a part of Varna Summer Festival - in June; part of the aforementioned festival is also the International Gathering of Orchestras and Classical Music Ensembles - in July; again as part of the festival is the Jam Session in July and August. Other important cultural events are: the Folk Festival with international participants - in August; the International Ballet Competition in August; the Love is Folly Cinema International Festival - in September; the Golden Rose Festival of Bulgarian Cinematography; The Gold Dolphin International Festival of Puppet Theatres, held every year in October.

Accommodation: Varna offers virtually unlimited number of accommodation facilities. A well - known joke says that in summer Varna grows to the dimensions of Sofia whereas Sofia shrinks to the dimensions of Varna. As a rule, the greater part of holidaymakers put up at private lodgings. There are several accommodation bureaus in the city which all exchange current information. The hotels at the disposal of the guests are a great number and continuously increase. Luxury hotels are the Black Sea Hotel, Odessa Hotel, Varnenski Bryag Hotel. The Moussala Hotel and the Orbita Hotel are cheaper ones. The latter is a hotel for international youth tourism. There are about 60 private hotels; most of them are 1- or 2-star hotels. The prices there are moderate. One of the best is the Breeze-2 Hotel nearby Pochivka bus stop. Private lodgings can also be found directly not through the lodging offices.

Catering. Varna's most popular luxurious and offering special cuisine restaurants are: the Indian Maharany Restaurant, Maggy Restaurant and the Moussala Restaurant with a Viennise Cafe, the Paraklisa Restaurant, the FEB Restaurant, the Morska Sirena Restaurant, a chain of restaurants Mustang Food Bar, Happy Bar and Grill chain, Loza Restaurant, Morsko Konche Restaurant, and the Galateya Restaurant. Middle class restaurants, numerous private pubs and taverns are available even in the distant residential quarters of the city. Many of them are open 24 hours, others - as long as there are clients to be serviced. For those who prefer cooking for themselves there is a large chain of supermarkets with non-stop or regular working hours. There are many market places as well. The most popular one is called Kolhoz. A lot of small pizza shops and snack-bars that offer typically Bulgarian snacks such as sheeted pastries, cheese buns, dough nuts, boza (soft drink made of millet), and others. There are a great number of canteens, especially along the beach and in the Sea Garden Park where fish and seafood are offered. Every day one can buy freshly caught fish from the local anglers at the sea station.

Cinemas and theatres. There are about ten cinemas functioning in Varna. Some of the best are in the city centre. The best is The Mustang Cinema. It is very comfortable and offers almost 24 hours of blockbusters. Theatre of Drama is open during the whole holiday season with its three stages. Varna Opera and Philharmonic Orchestra also have their performances. The Puppet Theatre is also open throughout the season. As a rule, the theatres are on holiday during the summer, but in the beginning and at the end of the summer one can see many performances from all over the world at the Theatre and the Puppet Theatre Festivals, respectively. Good foreign theatrical companies are usual event for the city. They perform attractive non-verbal shows, delivered for foreign guests, especially. In the open-air theatre, pop and folk stars often have concerts, shows and ballet performances take place there.

Transport. The fastest way to get to Varna is by airplane, it takes 50 min from Sofia to Varna. Varna Airport functions throughout the year. Planes in both directions fly 6 or 7 times a day during the summer. The airport phone number is 052 573323; the Balkan Ticket Office answers phone number 052 222248. The sea station provides sea buses to Balchik, Slunchev Bryag (Sunny Beach), Nessebur and Bourgas. The railway station phone number is 052 630414. The phone number of the booking office is 052 632347. Varna is connected to all of the main railway lines in the country. There are express trains to Sofia and Plovdiv that reach for 7 and 4.30 hours respectively. Seats are limited so it is advisable to book sleeping car tickets a week before. The bus station is 1.5 km away from the city centre. Its phone number is 052 448349. Buses for all main destinations in the country start including Sofia from here. The Group Private Bus Company offers bus lines to all destinations (tel.: 052 256734). Buses travel to Athens and Istanbul as well as to some cities in Central and Eastern Europe. Their bus stop is in front of the cathedral. Varna's public transport offers over 60 bus lines that travel to various destinations. Some of the buses travel to the nearby resorts (20 km away from the city). There are trolley buses available in the city as well.

Surrounding areas. The famous village of Vinitsa is situated 10 km northeast of Varna, where the so-called Gagaouzi people live -they are Christians who speak Turkish and have very interesting customs and traditions. It is a favourite place for the citizens of Varna. They often go on picnics or for walks. Many tourists also visit it. The Cape Galata is very attractive to lots of tourists who seek solitude among nature. It is situated in the distant part of the Galata Quarter. There are wide meadows among deciduous groves and natural water springs with drinking water and rocks convenient for fishing and cockle catching. The Romanlika Resort includes several hotels (tel.: 052 226317). It offers sports facilities for all kinds of water sports, cruises and voyages by the local water transport. Around the Asparuh Bridge near the quarter of the same name, the relics of the rampart of Asparuh can be seen. The great Bulgarian ruler built them 13 centuries ago in order to resist the raids of the Byzantine fleet. To the south of the lake of Varna the Dzhanavar Hill can be visited. A basilica from the early Christian period is built here. In the 6th century, there were fortifications to resist the raids of the Avari tribe. The Pobitite Kamuni (Rammed Stones) are 18 km west of the city. They were formed by erosion about 50 million years ago. Dead cockles, sea species, and fossils are constituents of these stones, and of the sands around. Some of the stones have zoomorphic and anthropomorphic profiles. Many of them were place of worship or consecrated grounds during Thracian, Slavonic, and ancient Bulgarian times. Now they are an interesting tourist sight and a place where a lot of historic and adventure films have been made. The town of Devnya is connected by the Varna Canal to the Varna Lake. It is famous for the industrial production of soda. There are remains of the ancient town of Marcianopolis, the second biggest town in ancient Bulgaria after Philipopolis. It was a stronghold against the numerous raids of the tribe of Dacians against the Emperor Trayan. In 3rd century, it was so big that it was difficult to see it even from a bird's eye. The foundations of the defence walls, the rampart, the turrets, and the town's forum are in good condition. There are remains of other buildings as well. The Petrich Kale rises opposite the railway station of Razdelna on Varna-Sofia railway line. The fortress was built in 5th century; later on, it was destroyed down and rebuilt in 13th-14th centuries. It was an important defence fortress in 1444 during the battles of Vladislav Varnenchik. The rocks near the fortress are perfect for mountaineering.

Kamchia (top)
Intro:
The mouth of the Kamchia River is one of the most beautiful sights along Bulgarian Black Sea coast.

Full text:
It is situated 34 km south of Varna and 504 km east of Sofia. The region is typical with its spacious beaches, starting from the area called Paletsa (The Thumb) in the north and ending to Cape Black near the village of Shkorpilovtsi in the south. The recently built resort complex forks at the river mouth into Northern Kamchia and Southern Kamchia parts. The merging of two small rivulets springing from the Eastern Stara Planina Mountain - Louda Kamchia and Golyama Kamchia, forms the Kamchia River. Running down through the Balkan Mountain it meanders through a grove called Longoza (thick by-river grove). Over 40 species of beautiful trees, many species of bushes grow in the forest. Ferns, reed and yellow water lilies also grow here. Some tourists claim that the place is the earth's paradise; others call it a fairy tale place. The Ropotamo River, Dyavolska River (Devil's) and Veleka River have similar geological structure - sandstone, clay loam formations covered with wild vegetation in the quiet and large firth. Once Kamchia was called Panisos and the Slavs called it Ticha. Its contemporary name is of Kouman origin. The Romans built a stronghold called Erite on its left bank. The Lipovani tribe settled on its banks; actually, they were offspring of Russian followers of the Gregorian calendar who came here from the mouth of the Danube. Nowadays the frequently flooded area is a reserve under the protection of UNESCO. The reserve is 40 km in length (throughout Longoza to the river mouth) and 5 km in width in some of its parts. There are does, deer, sea hawks and eagles, wild boars, wild cats, etc.

Accommodation. There are several hotels in the two resorts. The preferred of them are the Kamchia Hotel and the Longoz Hotel. There are three large camping sites: Paradise, Pirin and Kamchia. Prices here are more than reasonable. Except for the hotels, it is not necessary to make a reservation beforehand. Information about the hotels is available at the tourist agencies in Varna. Lodgings are offered in the villages in the vicinity.

Catering. Apart from the large restaurants-Kamchia restaurant, Lillie of Kamchia Restaurant, Kamchiiska Sreshta Restaurant, and the Hambarite Restaurant, which offer various dishes and show programs, there are a lot of small bistros, and pubs offering specialties from the sea and the river. There are a lot of stalls and a supermarket. In the villages in the vicinity, one can buy fresh fruit and vegetables. There is a good restaurant in the area called Poda nearby the river mouth.

Transport. There is regular transport from Varna to Kamchia during the holiday seasons, and local transport from the villages in the vicinity. The water transport along the river is wonderful. Renting a boat is not only a way of transport but a tourist attraction as well.

Surrounding areas. The Shkorpilovtsi Resort Complex is near the village of the same name, and it spreads to White Cape in the south. There are two camping sites in it, the Izgev Camping, and the Horizon Camping. There is enough unoccupied space; there are restaurants and pubs in both the village and camping site. One can go on foot to the Cape Black, hanging over the sea, with its old oak tree forest, and its spring of cold water. Further to the south, there is a wide gulf with a drinking fountain drawing its water from the Cape Black. Opposite it, the Cape White can be seen with its lime rocks. To the north of the Cape Black is the village of Bliznatsi - 5 km away from the shore, to the south-west are the villages of Old and New Oryahovo with numerous rest ouses around.

Obzor (top)
Intro:
The town of Obzor (population: over 2000 inhabitants) is situated 65 km south of Varna, 73 km north of Bourgas and 530 km east of Sofia.

Full text:
It lies on the ridges of the Stara Planina Mountain that slope towards the sea and along the Dvoynitsa River. The ancient name of the town was Navlohos in Hellenic times, then it was given the name of Heliopolis (Town of the Sun) and in Roman times, it was Templum Jovis (Jupiter's Temple). During the Middle Ages the town was named Kozyak and was part of the Karvun principality and the fortress, successor of the ancient town. The Ottoman conquerors ruined the fortress to the last stone. Its present name Obzor was given in 1935. The beach by the town is long and it extends from Cape St. Atanas on the north to the southern Cape Mona Petra. It is followed by a small nestling cove and a beach named Irakli. Once there was a village with the same name there, inhabited by Greek settlers who left it and settled to live with the Bulgarians in Obzor. Cape St. Nikola is several kilometers to the south where the Balkan Mountains touch the Black Sea. Then the central cape of the Stara Planina Mountain called Emine comes and it is considered the end of the Balkan Mountains. During the Middle Ages there was a fortress - Emona and the place around was called Paleokastro. Many monks and hermits lived in the rocks in those days and there were lots of small chapels and monasteries.

Accommodation. There are three camping sites with bungalows and enough space for tents between the village of Byala and the town of Obzor. Luna Camping and Prostor Camping work without advance reservation, as well as the Sluntse (Sun) Camping. The Ticha Hotel (medium category), Amore Tourist Hostel (low category) and plenty of private lodgings at moderate prices during the holiday season are located there. The Tourist Information Centre is located at 2, Ivan Vazov Street, tel.: 05504 3351.

Catering. In addition to the hotel restaurant, there is an emblematic establishment - Starata Kushta Restaurant (The Old House). There are small restaurants and refreshment stalls along the coast, as well as grocer's shops and fresh fruits and vegetables.

Surrounding areas. The village of Byala is situated not far to the north of Obzor. Once there was an ancient Greek fortress named Aspro. The camping site called Kristina is situated near the village. The wine of the extremely fine Dimyat vintage is produced in the village. There is a wonderful roadside establishment - Jackson Restaurant to the north on the road to Staro Oryahovo. The village of Emona near Cape Emine, to the south of Obzor is famous for being the birthplace of the Thracian king Rez. He participated in the Thracian War and was killed by Odysseus and Diomedus according to Homer's "Iliad".

Elenite (top)
Intro:
Elenite is a resort situated east of Slunchev Bryag (Sunny Beach) at the beginning of an eight-kilometer-long through road.

Full text:
It is 50 km north of Bourgas and 442 km east of Sofia. The nearest village is Vlas. In the past, it was given the name of a monastery destroyed by the Turks. The construction of the resort began in 1985. The resort complex consists of one-family bungalows and villas surrounded by lush green vegetation. The whole complex is designed as a park and offers deluxe holidays. This small separate settlement has its own private beach, several luxurious restaurants, sports facilities and equipment for water sports, tennis-court.
The Vlas Camping is situated not far away from Elenite. It offers accommodation in bungalows with toilet as well as enough space for tents. One can get to Elenite by minibus from Slunchev Bryag or by taxi, but most frequently, holidaymakers come here in their own cars.

Slunchev Bryag (SUNNY BEACH) (top)
Intro:
Sunny beach Resort is situated on 42 km north of Bourgas and 434 km east of Sofia.

Full text:
Its construction began in 1958. Practically, the resort is located on the whole territory between the land of the village of Vlas to the north and the town of Nessebur to the south. The construction began at the place where the two old wells providing water for Nessebur in the ancient times and the Middle Ages, had been. Nowadays there are more than 170 hotels and two camping sites, numerous places of entertainment. The Golden Orpheus International Festival of Popular Song, the Decade of Symphonic Music, part of the International Folklore Festival, fashion-shows, various beach competitions are held there. Hotels are also being built to the south of the Hadzhiiska River and an area of one-family luxury bungalows is being formed. Many excursions in the country and abroad are organised for holidaymakers and tourists during the weekends or at the end of their holidays. The resort has tennis-courts, swimming pools, bowling, mini-golf playgrounds, yachts and sailboats, opportunities to develop and practice all water sports using the services of coaches, facilities and equipment, horse riding with coaches, water slides, a policlinic, and several big shopping centers for food, clothes and souvenirs. There is an amphitheatre with more than 1000 seats.

Accommodation: The most famous are Kuban Hotel, Bourgas Hotel and Diamond Hotel. The two camping sites - Emona and Slunchev Bryag (Sunny Beach) cover a large area and therefore the sites there are practically unlimited. There are also bungalows in the camps, and these can only be reserved in advance.

Catering. The hotel restaurants are three categories - deluxe, high and medium. Apart from them, there are plenty of other restaurants with different types of cuisine and entertainment. Some of more famous restaurants are as follows: Chuchura (The Spout), Neptune, Hanska Shatra (Khan's Tent), Variety Show Bar, Strandzhanski Kolibi (Strandzha Huts), Magoura, Ribarska Hizha (Fisherman's Hut), etc. The Vyaturna Melnitsa Restaurant (Windmill) and Fregatata Restaurant (The Frigate) are attractive with their buildings made of wood and the marvelous cuisine and programs. There are many private restaurants, refreshment stalls, shops. The prices are high but the supply and the quality of the products are beyond any doubt.

Transport. There is local transport in the resort - mini-trains by which one can travel from the one end of the ten-kilometer beach to the other end. There is a regular bus transport from Nessebur and Bourgas to Slunchev Bryag, plenty of private minibuses, route and ordinary taxis, water transport to Nessebur and Bourgas. The ticket prices are moderate because of the competition and the flow of many tourists.

Surrounding areas. Zora Holiday Complex is situated here as well as the village of St. Vlas, and Elenite. The complex was built later than Elenite but of a similar style. The areas covered with trees along the Hadzhiiska River and the dunes between the road and the resort are very interesting. The town of Nessebur is so near with its new quarter extending to the north that it almost merges with the resort.

Nessebur (top)
Intro:
The town of Nessebur (9437 inhabitants) is situated on a small peninsula and on the land jutted out into the sea, 37 km northeast of Bourgas and 429 km east of Sofia.

Full text:
Its beach is considered the best along the Black Sea coast. The big sandy strip of land between the town and the village of Ravda is covered with extremely fine and abundant clean golden sand. There are marvellous dunes next to the coast. The green copses by the sandy strips provide a cool breath of air during the hot days.

History. The town was founded on the place of a Thracian angler’s settlement that was named Messembria, which meant the town of Mena (the founder of the settlement). In the 6th century BC, it was a colony of the Megarus tribe from ancient Greece, immigrants from Byzantium and Kalhedon. It remained the only Doric colony along the Black Sea coast, as the rest were typical Ionic colonies. The Greeks named it Messembria and it grew into a big and well-fortified town-state with natural protection from both the land and the sea. It was equipped with water mains, a system of sewers, fortified walls, amphitheatre and numerous cult buildings the most impressive of which was the temple of Apollo. It became a commercial centre and plenty of goods from the Aegean and the Mediterranean regions were traded there. The excavated objects testify to a brisk trade with the ancient world. The town maintained excellent relations with the neighbouring Thracian tribes and minted its own coins in 5th century BC. Two centuries later, it grew so much that it founded its own colony called Navlohos near Obzor. The whole land between Nessebur and Obzor used to be a granary that supplied the two colonies with food as well as products of exchange and import. In 1st century BC, the town fell under Roman rule and surrendered to Marcus Lukulus' legions so that it did not suffer any devastation. It was then that the constructions of the second colony of Messembria began, to the south of it - Anhialo (present day Pomorie). In the early Middle Ages, the town restored the fortress walls and until 812 it was part of Byzantium. In the same year, it was conquered by Khan Kroum with no resistance put up, and was included in the territory of Bulgaria. The town was under the rule of the Bulgarians. Later it was conquered by the Byzantines.
During the reign of Ivan Alexander, the town reached its cultural and economic boom, and it grew to the extent of occupying a huge territory of the land beyond the peninsula. It was approximately in this period of time when most of the churches of Nessebur were built and up to this day they are a unique decoration of the town. According to the world statistics, Nessebur is the town having the biggest number of churches per capita. In 1366 the knights of Amadeus of Savoy conquered and devastated the town, and then sold it to Byzantium for 15 000 golden ducats. In 1453, shortly after Constantinople fell under Turkish domination the town was conquered by the Ottoman Empire and suffered decay. At the dawn of the Liberation, it was a dilapidated anglers’ settlement, with well-developed viticulture on the soft hills above the town. Today Nessebur is one of the resorts most preferred by tourists and it has been most attractive ever since the beginning of XX century. The construction of the new town started at the time together with numerous rest homes, big and small hotels, and modern facilities for tourism and entertainment. The old buildings were restored and new houses in ancient style were built.

Landmarks. The churches in Nessebur are 41. Not all of them have preserved their full brilliance but even their present condition strongly impresses tourists. One of the oldest sights is the Basilica situated on the seashore, built most probably at the beginning of 5th century. The building had three naves, however only the foundations have remained today. The Old Bishop's Residence located in the centre of the town is probably the most imposing one of all the churches in Nessebur. It is more than 25 m long and 22 m wide. The three naves were decorated with a colonnade and arches; stone and brick laid with a mosaic covered floor. St. Ivan the Baptist Church was built in 11th century and is a typical cross-domed church with three naves and four brick-laid columns supporting the whole dome. There are some fragments of frescoes preserved dating back to 13th century. There is a small archaeological museum arranged in the church. The St. Stefan Church or the so-called New Bishop's Residence was built in 10th century, too, and is situated near the harbour. It is three-nave. The exterior decoration is so picturesque that it marked the beginning of the future typical style of Nessebur expressed in the construction and decoration of churches of later times. The facade of the church is ornamented with built-in meanders of glazed ceramic figures of different colours, majolica and enamelled tiles that at the same time adorn and distinguish the architectural components. The main frescoes here were painted in 14th-15th centuries. The bishop's throne and the altar were made of wood later in 17th century. The subsequent picturesque style was best illustrated in the St. Todor Church - however only two facades have been preserved in their initial style. Today it has been restored, but the preserved decoration elements are unique in shape, colour, and variety of component combination. The St. Paraskeva Church was built in the same style. It is a small one-nave church. The ornaments match the architectonics of the building in a most natural way. Consoles with tiny arches slightly support the upper part of the dome and resemble children's sandcastle. The St. St. Archangels Mihail and Gavrail Church used to have a dome; its remains evidence of an interesting project and excellent performance. The restoration enables tourists see the architectural concept in the typical picturesque style. In the ideal centre of the town, it is the Pantocrator Church with domes on a rectangular foundation. The St. Yoan Aliturgetos Church is considered the most beautiful one perched high above the harbour. It has three naves and the decoration of the facades is of unique beauty, particularly the eastern one facing the sea. The remains of many parts of fortress walls have been found as well as the square turret, the round turret, a large part of the authentic medieval street pavement, and some of the Roman and Greek pavements, fortifications of different times and epochs, remains of administrative and other kinds of buildings. In spite of its small size the town is ever surprising tourists with the antiquities appearing all over the place. During the Turkish rule, only one church was built in 17th century - the St. Spas Church. The typical houses of Nessebur built in the unique style of 16th-19th centuries are interesting architectural monuments. So are the houses of Diamanti and that of Panayot Mouskoyani, which hosts an ethnographic exhibition, and that of Captain Pavel. The whole ensemble of the old quarters of Nessebur shows remarkable taste and mastership in the construction of houses, stonewalls, and streets. The Turkish bath and the windmill at the beginning of the causeway are of particular interest.

Accommodation. The most famous hotels in the town are Messembria Hotel, Globus Hotel and Bourgas Hotel. In the town, there is a tourist house and many small hotels. Private lodgings can be found without reservation in the old town; the inhabitants themselves offer their services to the tourists arriving to the town.

Transport. There is a regular transport connecting Bourgas and Pomorie to Nessebur and Slunchev Bryag (Sunny Beach). There are private taxis typical for the seaside towns due to the great number of tourists. The prices are moderate. There is water transport to Bourgas; one can often hire local boatmen to reach various places in the bay.

Surrounding areas. The village of Ravda is situated south of Nessebur and a sand strip connects both. There are melon fields, vines and gardens near the village where one can buy fresh agricultural products at low prices. There are numerous children's and youth camps, holiday houses and private lodgings. The village of Aheloy is situated on the motorway to Bourgas near the mouth of the Aheloy River. This is where the Bulgarian Tsar Simeon I destroyed the armies of the Byzantine emperor Lion Foka in the area called nowadays Kokalos because of the scattered bones of the killed soldiers. A vast firth with a sand strip parallels the distance from here to Pomorie and the long beach of excellent category is not yet built up. It borders the firth of Pomorie and the salt mines by the town.

Pomorie (top)
Intro:
The town of Pomorie (population: 14 560) is situated on a peninsula projecting 5 km into the sea.

Full text:
The peninsula is 18 km northeast from Bourgas, and 408 km east from Sofia. Before entering the town one passes through a long and narrow causeway between the sea and the firth. The firth of Pomorie borders the peninsula and this gives the impression of jutting out into it.

History. There used to be a Thracian settlement here colonised by the Greeks in later times. A colony of the metropolis of Messembria was founded here in 5th century BC. The town was called Anhialo being at the same time a colony of Apolonia as well (today's Sozopol). The town gradually worsened its relations with Messembria because the population of the latter was Doric in origin and the town was inhabited by the Ionic. The main occupation was fishing, mining and trading of sea salt. The shallow firth presented ideal conditions for that - it was where the first settlers discovered layers of salt in the sand. The ancient town was situated further inward onto the land in the area called Paleokastro where one can see its ruins scattered all over. During the Roman domination, Ulpia was added to the name of the town and it surpassed even Apolonia in its glory for a long time. Anhialo regained its name in the Middle Ages. It suffered barbarian invasions and in 8th century, it was rebuilt by the Byzantine empress Irina. The town was intermittently under Bulgarian and then Byzantine domination, and vice versa, but more often in the Bulgarian territory. In 1366, it was conquered and resold to Byzantium by Amadeus of Savoy and his knights. It fell under Ottoman rule together with Nessebur in 1453. At the time of the Kantakouzins family, successors of the last Byzantine emperors, the town became restive again; however, Mihail - successor of the family had to escape to Romania. His plan did not succeed and he was hanged, but his sons managed to escape. After the Liberation, the town regained its power and was of utmost importance in the Bourgas Bay. In 1906, the town burst in fire and nearly burnt down. It is known as a salt-mining centre; fruits and vegetables grow here; wine and tin productions are traditional for the place. Today the main occupation of its inhabitants is tourism; there is a mud cure establishment. The mud cure lake was discovered in 3rd-4th centuries BC and was later called the Holy Lake by Anna Komnina (a Byzantine female writer). The first mud cure establishment was built here in 1902 after the curing properties of mud unique for Europe had been proved. The mud is good for bone and muscular disorders, radiculitis, rheumatism, sciatica, lumbago, discal hernia, etc.

Landmarks. The old churches - the Transfiguration Church (dating back to 18th-19th centuries has a valuable iconostasis and icons) and the Assumption Church (19th century). A stone bas-relief of St. Georgi is preserved in the St. Georgi the Victorious Monastery of Pomorie. A museum collection is arranged in the house of Peyo Yavorov, the famous Bulgarian poet and there is a monument to his honour near the Yavorov Rocks. A domed tomb-mausoleum (3rd-4th century) was found in the area of Kouhata Mogila near Europa Camping. It is interesting for the construction resembling a funnel and is open to visitors.

Accommodation. In Pomorie the majority of tourist use private lodgings. Most popular are the Anhialo Hotel, Pomorie Hotel and Byala Kushta Hotel (White House). Europa camping site offers accommodation in bungalows. Aheloy camping site is located 8 km north of the town and tourists having their own transport can use its services.

Catering. The most famous restaurants in the town are Tsarevets Restaurant and Peneka Restaurant. Apart from the restaurants and the hotels, there are a number of small private establishments, refreshment stalls and shops. On can buy fresh fruits and vegetables at low prices from the local inhabitants directly or at the marketplace. Some rest homes (more than 30 in number) allow non-residential clients to dine at reduced vouchers.

Transport. Regular town transport connects Bourgas to Pomorie. Route taxis, minibuses and ordinary taxis run along the same route. Private water transport to Bourgas and Nessebur can be used upon agreement.

Surrounding areas. The village of Sarafovo is 6 km south of Pomorie. Bourgas Airport is near the village and is open to international flights, too. The village is situated on the seashore and this in itself gives opportunities for recreation. Lodgings are available. There are pleasant beaches. Atanassovo Lake is located to the south of Sarafovo in a large lagoon. The waters of the lake are salty and used for salt mining.

Bourgas (top)
Intro:
The city of Bourgas (population: 196 316) is the second largest city at the Black Sea coast and is a regional administrative centre.

Full text:
It is situated in the farthest western part of Bourgas Bay and is 390 km east of Sofia. It ranks fourth in size among the biggest cities in the country after Sofia, Plovdiv and Varna. Due to the low level of the coast three lagoon-lakes were formed: Atanassovo, Bourgas, and Mandren. The city is situated between the sea and the first two lakes; however, it has grown so much that nowadays it almost touches the Mandra Lake.

History. Bourgas is a successor of the late Roman small town called Deultum founded by Emperor Vespasian as a military colony for veterans. Later it was called Develt, which served as a name for the present day village of Debelt. Three more villages were included in the present day territory of the city, i.e. Kastiacion, Skafida and Rossokastron. Later a curative settlement was built called Aqua Kalidae, arranged like Asclepionite around the mineral springs well known in the area. Thracian tribes lived here before the commencement of this construction work. The glory of the adjacent towns did not allow small fortresses to expand. In the Middle Ages a small fortress called Pirgos was erected, most probably used as a watchtower in Bulgarian territories. It was only in 17th century that Bourgas was given its present name and its location as it is now was determined. It was called Ahelo-Bourgas. After the Liberation, it was called Bourgas, represented a small settlement with 2950 inhabitants. Ever since the town has grown and the population has increased almost 100 times. It became the centre of the Southern Black Sea coast, a city of well-developed industry and trade, with a busy harbour. A number of plants, oil and chemical works producing more than 30 oil products for the country, were built; there was rapid agricultural development on the land by the city; salt and iron are mined in industrial quantities and traded far beyond the boundaries of the country. In 1903, the railway station in Bourgas started functioning.

Landmarks. The District Museum of History was founded in 1925 with the archaeological association. Today it houses an archaeological hall with a rich collection from the old colonies on the Black Sea coast. There are a number of ceramic vessels, objects from everyday life, coins and jewellery from antiquity, tombstones, and plates of Thracian horse-riders, tools, and miniature models of ancient settlements. There are exhibits of modern history, photos of eminent Revival leaders, of Bulgarians born in the district having blazed a trail in the history of the native land. The Art Gallery was established in 1945 with halls exhibiting foreign art, works of Bulgarian artists, and icons painted by Revival icon-painters. The Sea Garden Park is situated on a high shore, all of it cut by flowerbeds, trees and sculptures. There is the bust of Adam Mizcewic, Polish writer and revolutionary, who stayed in the city in 1850. Within the park, there is the casino, a small zoo and the open-air theatre, which houses the annual International Folklore Festival, and where part of the guests at the Golden Orpheus Pop-Festival performs. The central beach is situated below the Sea Garden Park, a beautiful forked staircase in verdure leads to the beach. The sand is a mixture of various alloys of magnetite that is the reason for its dark colour. The city has a northern beach, too, close to the Izgrev Quarter, adjacent to the salt-mines. The St. St. Cyril and Methodius Cathedral is situated near the marketplace, and is interesting for its marvelous frescos and wooden altar. The Ethnographic Museum has an interesting collection of traditional masks of koukeri, and costumes typical of the region, objects from everyday life, and ritual accessories. There is a video-hall where one can see ethnographic and historical films. A number of traditional Bulgarian fabrics and embroidery typical of the district are exhibited. The museum is arranged in a house from 1873, later declared a cultural monument. The Museum of Nature and Science contains many exhibits describing the geological characteristics of the earth, the region, the flora, and fauna.More than 1200 exhibits relating to insects and reptiles have been exposed. More than 140 species of fishes, plants growing in the district of Strandzha, protected and endemic species are on display. The Philharmonic, the Opera House, and the Theatre of Drama are housed in three different buildings and function all through the season. Together with the Puppet Theatre, they outline the cultural atmosphere in the city with their interesting concerts and performances. An interesting sight of Bourgas is the Armenian Church located close to Bulgaria Hotel. It was built in 1855 by the local Armenian minority supported by Bulgarians. There are numerous festivals and holidays held in the city of Bourgas: five days of the Classical German and Austrian music - at the end of April; International Festival of Children's Choirs - end of May; International Theatre Festival of Small Forms called "Theatre in a Suitcase" - May, June; Three-week Festival of Opera and Classical Music in Memory of the Conductor Emil Chakurov - July; International Folk Festival and a Week of the Arts for Children - August; International Pop- and Jazz-Session called "Bourgas and the Sea" - September; International Tournament in Standard and Latin-American Dances - December. Accommodation: The city has many hotels of different categories, many private lodgings; there are two big camping sites in the proximity of Bourgas. The most famous hotels are Park Hotel, situated on the shore of Atanassovo Lake, deluxe category; Primorets Hotel; Bulgaria Hotel and Cosmos Hotel. Most expensive among them is the Bulgaria Hotel, the cheapest accommodation is found in the private hotels in the suburbs.

Catering. The city is full of restaurants, pubs, beer-houses, taverns, and refreshment stalls and grocer's shops. The most famous restaurants are National, Staryat Pristan (the Old Pier), Starata Gemiya (the Old Boat), Bourgaska Sreshta (Meeting in Bourgas), as well as the restaurants at the hotels. Most of the luxury restaurants have orchestras playing, some offer entertainment, too. As a rule, the food in the city is cheap, especially if one shops in the suburbs or at the marketplaces. The practical tourists may use the services of the traditional bakeries, pizza houses, and self-service establishments.

Transport. Bourgas Airport is open for domestic and international flights throughout the year. One can receive information and book tickets on tel.: 056 684083; the booking agency in the city has the following tel.: 056 45605. There are flights to Sofia every day, and during the summer, there are up to 7 flights daily in both directions. The flight to the capital city takes 40 min. The telephone of the railway station is 056 45022; booking office at tel.: 056 47023. The railway station in Bourgas has connections with all main directions round the country. The express train to Sofia travels less than 6.30 hours; it takes 3 hours to get to Plovdiv. Reservation in a sleeping car should be made at least a week earlier during the summer. The bus station is located next to the railway station, the telephone is 056 24047. Buses in many directions including Sofia start from there. There are many private carriers to the south and to the north of Bourgas to the towns and resorts situated some about 50 km away from the centre. The buses of the Group Company travel in various directions outside the country, too (tel.: 056 45360 for reservations). One can rent a bicycle at the corner of Mihailov Street and Kirkov Street. There is regular city transport - buses, trolley buses and route taxis.

Surrounding areas. The lake of Pomorie is located 20 km north of Bourgas and is surrounded by salt-mines and spa resorts. Atanassovo Lake is to the north, too, between the airport and the city. It is 10 km long and is a nestling site of many marsh and sea birds migrating from Gibraltar and the Bosphorus. Part of the lake is a biosphere reserve; bulrush and cane grow here, there are sites for fishing, swimming and having a rest. Bourgas Lake is a nestling site of numerous pelicans, ibis, and herons. It offers many opportunities for having a rest as well. Mandren Lake is 10 km south of the city and is an important ornithological reserve with a large bird population in summer. Small lagoons are formed in it; it is suitable for rowing tours and recreation. The lake is close to the road to Sozopol. The St. Anastasia Island is 3 nautical miles east of the city. There is a well-preserved old church. The name of the island is associated with the exile of left-wing revolutionaries in 1923-1925, and of anti-Fascists in 1943-1944. That is why for some time after 1944 the island bore the name Bolshevik. The salt-mines of Bourgas are a sight of interest. They border the Bourgas Lake, and some of them even stretch to the Atanassovo Lake. The mineral public baths are 13 km north-west of the city in the direction to Aitos. There are the remains of the old Roman town called Aetos built round the mineral springs. The settlement near the baths was called Terma, Termopolis, Megaliterma. In 16th century a Turkish hamam (bath) were erected; it is still existing and functioning. There is curing mud, a spa, a resort polyclinic, and a rest home. The village of Kraimorie (old name Kafka) is to the south of Bourgas on the way to the old fortress of Pirgos. There is a nice beach near the village, as well as rest homes and private lodgings for the holidaymakers. The Otmanli Park is 15 km away from Bourgas near Cape Choukalya. It is situated in a thick forest on a territory of 6000 decares. There is a hunting reservation and bungalows for recreation.

Sozopol (top)
Intro:
The town of Sozopol (population: 4 987) is situated 31 km southeast of Bourgas, and 421 km southeast of Sofia.

Full text:
The town lies on a small rocky peninsula in the farthest southern part of the Bourgas Bay. A one hundred-meter long strip of land connects it to the mainland. After 1925, the town started to grow in the direction of Harmanite Area and today it occupies considerably larger territory on the mainland.

History. The first settlements belonged to the Thracian tribes of Nipsei and Skirimian. In 7th century BC, Greek colonisers settled there and named the town after Apollo, the God of arts. Apolonia developed mainly as a trading centre for honey, wax, corn, wine, olive oil, olives, textiles, jewellery, and pottery. The numerous finds are evidence that this small town used to be the trading centre of the whole of the Black Sea coast. Much earlier in 13th century BC, the argonauts led by lazon, Heraklitis and Orpheus came ashore. The love for travelling and discovering made the inhabitants of Apolonia in those times travel, trade and found new colonies. So were founded the settlements of Anhialo and Pirgos, Termopolis and Aetos. The town was included in the union of sea town-states founded by Percales. Apolonia was frequently in economic and political dispute with the Doric inhabitants of Messembria; wars were even waged. At the time, the island of Kirik was mainly inhabited. Apolonia sought help from Philip of Macedonia against the attacks of the Scythians. It was included in the territory of the Macedonian State at the time of Alexander the Great and was constantly subject to invasions but it struggled against the attacks of a number of Nomadic tribes flowing from north and west. The town fell under Roman domination in 1st century BC and was ruined several times by the armies of Marcus Lucul. It is an interesting fact that the Romans quickly restored the ruins, built new temples, and ordered a thirteen-meter high statue of Apollo by the sculpturer Kalamis. The statue was sent to Rome as an example of the arts of this particular Roman province. As early as 6th century Apolonia minted coins of its own. The Roman domination provided three centuries of peace until the invasion of the barbarian tribes. It was only in 5th century that the town was included in the territory of Byzantium. During the reign of Khan Kroum it was within the borders of Bulgaria and like all other sea towns it frequently fell under the rule of Byzantium. In the Middle Ages it preserved its status of a district town. It was severely devastated in the middle of 14th century during an attack by the Genoa fleet. Later it was conquered and sold by the knights of Amadeus of Savoy. After a long siege, the town fell under Turkish rule in 1453. Only wooden houses have been built there ever since; the oldest samples can be observed even today in the unique old streets. Sozopol welcomed the Liberation as small anglers’ settlement. Later the town became the biggest fishing centre of the Black Sea coast and developed recreation and tourism. The famous Tsar's Beach is located to the north of the town. Nestled between the rocks to the south of the town is the Raiski Beach (Paradise) and further southwards - the Kavatsite. The Harmanite Beach is immediately to the south of the so-called "new" town. An ancient necropolis was found here in 1993 and excavations are still going on.

The landmarks in Sozopol are many, but none of them can be separated from the rest since all of them influence the visitors as an attractive ensemble. The ancient churches from the Revival Period - St. Zosim Church and The Holy Virgin Church. The following houses are quite interesting: the house of Dimitur Laskaridis (17th century, now an art gallery), a fish trader, Ana Trendafilova's (the house with the sun), of Kourtidis, Una Psarianova's (now arranged as Stenata Restaurant), of Grandmother Koukoulissa Hadzhinikolova (today housing the office of Sturshel Newspaper), Metropoliev's House (a medical centre at present), of Kreanoolu, etc. The old cobbled streets and high fences in front of which the old women sit and chat, knit laces and sell fig jam, are inseparable elements of a whole complex of three-centuries of history. Interesting places to visit are the Archaeological Museum and the Art Gallery. At the beginning of September each year, the town hosts the big Apolonia International Art Festival.

Accommodation. There are lodgings in the old part and in the new part of the town as well. The Radik Hotel and the Groudov Hotel are among the well-known ones. There are many camping sites around Sozopol where many tourists spend their holidays: Kavatsite (The Willows), Smokinya (The Fig), Vesselie (Feast), Zlatna Ribka (Golden Fish) and Gradina (Garden). They offer bungalows of different categories, sites for caravans, tents and automobiles. The prices are quite moderate, the service and the hygiene are of good quality.

The Tourist Information Centre is at Republikanska Street, tel.: 05514 3336.

Catering. The traditional establishments are the small coastal restaurants, small private places both in the old and new part of the town, the stalls for fish, the pizza-huts, the snack-bars scattered all over the camping sites. Interesting catering establishments are Vyaturnata Melnitsa (The Windmill), Sozopol Tavern, Athens Tavern, the restaurants Xantana, Neptun, Drouzhba Fishing Boat, Orpheus, Olymp, and Lilia. Some of them are very interesting as they are built on ancient remains and houses after detailed archaeological research and restorations. Such an example is Stenata Restaurant (The Wall) whose basements were used as a warehouse for grain far back in time, and Kladenetsa Restaurant (The Well) which was built at the place of a spring, which supplied the town with drinking water via water pipes. The prices at the restaurants are high, moderate prices one can enjoy at the camping sites and in the small restaurants along the beach. There are a lot of grocer's and marketplaces. One could buy fish directly from the anglers at the quay.

Surrounding areas. To the north is the well-known resort at the village of Chernomorets, which borders the Gradina camping site. The Tourist Information Centre in the village is at 6, St. Nikola Street, tel.: 05510 2744. To the north, there are marvelous rock juts, to the south - a river and canes of human size. There is an old church, a camping site called Chernomorets, rest homes and many private lodgings. To the south of Sozopol there are a number of fjords-like formations. The coast here is particularly high and cut in by the incoming waves. There are numerous secluded coves. Mt. Bakurluka (376 m high) is above the town, and some 20 km to the south is the mouth of the Ropotamo River. There is a biosphere reserve, camping sites, very near is the famous Zmiiski Island (of the Snakes).

Dyuni (top)
Intro:
The Dyuni Resort is situated on 12 km north of Primorsko and was completed in 1987 as a Bulgarian-Austrian project.

Full text:
It offers lots of hotels, villas and bungalows. The Alepou Beach and Arkoutino Beach are visited by tourists. These places are still wild and extremely beautiful, which do not offer luxurious conditions for tourism and recreation. Cape Maslen is situated after the mouth of Ropotamo River, in its last 20 kilometers after the biosphere reserve. Its rocky profile and high precipice down to the sea offers a great view to the tourists who have climbed it and beneath them, there are small and quiet coves between the fiords covered with pebbles and seashells. Further southwards is the Perla Camping located in one of the most beautiful bays along the Black Sea coast. Here the beach gradually turns into a green grove. Nearby is the marsh of Stomoplo. Two biosphere reserves cover this area - Vodna Lilia (water lily) and Velyov Vir. Via Pontica - the way of the migrating birds flying to the south passes from here. Every year at the end of the summer thousands of storks, pelicans, 33 species of birds of prey gather in the area and after having arranged themselves like a gigantic fan in the air (nobody knows why they follow this order) the birds with grandeur head southwards to spend the winter. The view is imposing and admirers visit this area to enjoy the unique scene.

Primorsko (top)
Intro:
The town of Primorsko (population: 2459) is a climate resort and a centre for youth tourism.

Full text:
It is situated 52 km south of Bourgas and 442 km southeast of Sofia. It lies on a cape jutting out between the Stamopolo Bay and the Dyavolski (Devil's) Bay. The old Turkish village bore the name of Chenger and later on that of Kyupria. Primorsko has a large beach zone and more than 80 rest homes, houses and summer camps for schoolchildren and students and an open-air theatre as well. The area is forested with deciduous trees and vegetation. It is arranged as a park of numerous alleys in an old oak wood.

Accommodation. One can stay in Primorsko upon a booking in advance. During the summer season, it would be a risk to rely on lodging without a reservation.

The Tourist Information Centre is at 3rd March Street, tel.: 05561 3076. Catering. The small restaurants and refreshment stalls are infinite in number. The local canteens at the rest houses and camps are much sought after. The prices are not high but the canteens require a preliminary reservation.

Transport. Several times in the day, a bus runs to Bourgas and Sozopol. The telephone of the bus station is 05561 2613.

Kiten (top)
Intro:
The village of Kiten (population: 528) is situated at the south end of Primorsko Bay, 56 km south of Bourgas and 446 south-east of Sofia.

Full text:
The village is the successor of the Urdoviza Fortress situated on the cape itself. The Romans called the settlement Oroudiza. The town existed until the fall under Turkish domination and after that, it was abandoned. One can still see ruins of the settlement lying on the cape. The river of Karaagach is very beautiful; it flows into the sea at the southern part of the Urdoviza Bay. The marsh mouth is full of fish. There are five camping sites in the vicinity: Atliman, Les, Koral, Koop and Yug. There is a legend telling about a young woman called Stana who escaped from the harem of the Sultan. Amazed by her courage the Sultan promised to free the land she could reach on horseback. After a day's long ride the horse died on one of the beaches that up to this day bears the name of Atliman -the Bay of the Horse.

Accommodation. In Kiten there are enough private lodgings and camping sites on the beach. The local inhabitants are helpful, and the prices - comparatively low.

Catering. There are several small restaurants and plenty of snack bars. Local anglers and producers offer fish, vegetables and fruits.

Transport. There are regular bus lines from Bourgas to Kiten, or one can take a taxi from Primorsko.

Surrounding areas. The village of Lozenets is situated 5 km away from Kiten in the direction of the Bulgarian-Turkish boundary. There are two camping sites near the village, Lozenets and Oasis.

Tsarevo (top)
Intro:
The town of Tsarevo (population: 6184) is 72 km south of Bourgas and 462 km southeast of Sofia.

Full text:
It is situated at the foot of Strandzha Mountain where it slopes to the sea. Mt. Papiya raises more than five hundred meters above the town. There are three spacious beaches in the vicinity. In ancient times there was a colony named Vassiliko. It was only in 1912 that the town was included into the territory of Bulgaria. The name of Tsarevo dates back to 1930s and it is a Bulgarian translation of its old name. After 1944, it was renamed into Michurin, but today it has regained its former name. It is an international port for medium passenger and cargo ships. The population earns their living with fishing, vine growing, trade and tourism.

Accommodation. The camping sites of Arapya and Nestinarka offer great opportunities for accommodation at low prices for bungalows and camping. Chaika Hotel and the numerous private lodgings provide accommodation during the summer.

Catering. The most famous catering establishments in the town are Yalta Restaurant and the Passat Snack Bar. There are lots of small private restaurants, stalls, a marketplace and grocer's shops. Fish that can be bought at the port from local anglers directly. Prices are low.

Surrounding areas. There are two villages to the south-west on the road to Malko Turnovo. They are famous for the nestinarski dances (barefoot dance on glowing embers), which are a tourist attraction nowadays. The actual ritual is held on 21st May when the old female fire-dancers perform. The villages of Kodolovo and Bulgari are 22 and 17 km respectively away from Tsarevo. Another attraction is the village of Gradishte where Thracian mounds were found.

Ahtopol (top)
Intro:
The town of Ahtopol (population: 1364) is situated on a sharply jutted cape 87 km southeast of Bourgas and 477 km southeast of Sofia.

Full text:
The town is perched on the rocky peninsula at the place of a Thracian settlement. It was probably colonised in 6th century BC. Its name dates back to ancient times. The Romans called it Peronticus. The Byzantine leader Agaton restored the town after the barbarian invasions and gave it his own name Agatopolis. The Byzantine and the Bulgarians took it in turns. At the end of 14th century called was called Ahtenbolu. It was burnt down and devastated by sea pirates many a time. In 1918, it was completely burnt down again. The present day town was built anew. There are remains of a fortress wall. The Assumption Church and the St. Yani Monastery are interesting sights. High above the town is Mt. Malka Papia in the Strandzha Mountain.

Accommodation. The Elpida Hotel, the Dolphin Camping Site, the City Hotel, the Cherno More Hotel. Prices in Ahtopol are low; accommodation is no problem especially in the numerous private lodgings. The town is a much-preferred resort by intellectuals and people in search of quietness and solitude. This particular place on Bulgarian Black Sea coast has the highest number of sunny and hot days during the season. Catering. The most famous place is the small restaurant on the beach. There is a sufficient number of catering establishments offering various menus and products. Prices are low. Local producers and anglers offer their products.

Transport. There is regular transport to Bourgas and Sozopol.

Surrounding areas. Five kilometers south of Ahtopol is the mouth of Veleka River, the most beautiful river all along the Black Sea coast in spite of the competitive characteristics of Kamchia and Ropotamo. The village of Kosti famous for the nestinarski dances (barefoot dances on glowing embers) is situated nearby the river mouth. The village of Varvara is 3 km to the north, it is a favourite place for divers and skin-divers for it is full of stone cavities in the river banks and underwater "reefs" of shells. Usually people in search of nature and solitude come to spend their holidays here. The beaches of Varvara are rocky. The village of Sinemorets is 7 km south of Ahtopol. There is a camping site and three beautiful beaches. The last village on the coast is called Rezovo. It has a nice beach but is rarely used as a holiday place as it is too close to the national border and the border troops are stationed here.

top of page Home | About Us | Inspection Trips | Furniture | Apartments | Houses & Villas | Land | Set up a Company in Bulgaria | Contact Us |  
Translate this page to   © 2005 Bulgarian Coastal Properties. All rights reserved.